Game of the Week: The end of the streak

by Merijn van Delft
11/14/2018 – Ideas and strategies in Grandmaster games can be quite instructive. IM Merijn van Delft presents games like these every Wednesday at 20:00 CEST (19:00 UT, 2 pm EDT). On this week's show: How Ding's 100 games undefeated came to an end. The live show is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase Premium account holders. To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows.

Power Strategy 1 Power Strategy 1

The first DVD deals with the initial phase of the game, when the all the reigning principles can be crystalized into just one: DEVELOPMENT!

More...

Week 46

Since the World Championship match rightfully gets all the attention, tonight we'll have a closer look at Ding Liren's impressive technical win over his compatriot Yu Yangyi. Incidentally, Ding Liren's monster winning streak of 100 games came to an end due to the following game.

Can you guess what Vachier Lagrave played here as White?

 

Black to move


This week's show

The live show is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase Premium account holders.

To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows

Merijn is live at 20:00 CEST (18:00 UT, 2 pm EDT)


Watch previous shows


Recent shows

Many more Game of the Week shows are available in ChessBase Videos

Links




Merijn van Delft is an International Master from the Netherlands who lived in Hamburg for many years and is currently based in Amsterdam. After scoring a GM norm in 2017 he is eager for more. His ChessBase show on Wednesday evenings has been running for over ten years now.
Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register