Game of the Week: A positional masterpiece

by Merijn van Delft
11/7/2018 – Ideas and strategies in Grandmaster games can be quite instructive. IM Merijn van Delft presents games like these every Wednesday at 20:00 CEST (19:00 UT, 2 pm EDT). On this week's show: An overlooked game from the Isle of Man.

Power Strategy 1 Power Strategy 1

The first DVD deals with the initial phase of the game, when the all the reigning principles can be crystalized into just one: DEVELOPMENT!

More...

Week 45

While going through the grandmaster games played in the past week, I came across a great positional game won by the French GM Yannick Gozzoli. Tonight we'll have a detailed looked at the strategy he used.

As a warm-up question: What does Black play here?

 

Black to move


This week's show

The live show is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase Premium account holders.

To chat, please visit videos.chessbase.com/live or login via Playchess for Windows

Merijn is live at 20:00 CEST (18:00 UT, 2 pm EDT)


Watch previous shows


Recent shows

Many more Game of the Week shows are available in ChessBase Videos

Links




Merijn van Delft is an International Master from the Netherlands who lived in Hamburg for many years and is currently based in Amsterdam. After scoring a GM norm in 2017 he is eager for more. His ChessBase show on Wednesday evenings has been running for over ten years now.
Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register