The Game of the Week

by Merijn van Delft
9/19/2018 – Ideas and strategies in Grandmaster games can be quite instructive. IM Merijn van Delft presents games like these every Wednesday at 20:00 CEST (19:00 UT, 2 pm EDT). On this week's show: Learning from a painful loss in the Dutch League.

ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2021 ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2021

Your key to fresh ideas, precise analyses and targeted training!
Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.

More...

Learning from a loss

Last Saturday was the first round of the Dutch League and both my team and me personally lost terribly. Since I have this tradition of sharing my most painful losses on Wednesday evening, we'll have a close look at what happened and try to draw some conclusions.

But first, here's a warm-up:

 

Try out your idea against the engine


This week's show

Merijn is live at 20:00 CEST (18:00 UT, 2 pm EDT). The live show is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase Premium account holders.


Watch previous shows


Recent shows

Many more Game of the Week shows are available in ChessBase Videos

Links


Merijn van Delft is an International Master from the Netherlands who lived in Hamburg for many years and is currently based in Amsterdam. After scoring a GM norm in 2017 he is eager for more. His ChessBase show on Wednesday evenings has been running for over ten years now.

Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register