Alexadr Fier edges Aravindh to win 49th La Roda Open

by Shahid Ahmed
4/14/2023 – The La Roda Open took place on April 5-9 in La Roda, a small town located in the province of Albacete. The 9-round Swiss open saw two players scoring 7½ points, Alexandr Fier and Aravindh Chithambaram. Fier was declared champion thanks to his better tiebreaker score. A number of Indian players had strong performances, as Pranav, Iniyan and top seed Narayanan all collected 7 points in the tournament. | Photos: Official website

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


Indians claim second to fifth

GM Alexandr Fier drew with GM Aravindh Chithambaram in the final round of the 2023 La Roda Open. The Brazilian champion won the tournament due to better tiebreaks, and Aravindh was placed second.

Seven players scored 7/9 points each. GM Pranav Venkatesh, GM Iniyan P and GM S L Narayanan secured third, fourth and fifth place respectively. GM Vignesh N R scored 6.5/9 to finish in tenth place. Thus, Indians claimed five out of the top ten places.

The total prize fund of the tournament was €15000. The top three prizes were €3500, €2200 and €1000 along with a trophy each. After winning four tournaments in a row, this is Aravindh’s first runner-up finish in 2023, which is quite an impressive feat.

A total of 177 players from 22 countries, including 16 GMs, 7 IMs and a WIM, took part in the event. The tournament was organized by “Club Ajedrez Torneos La Roda” on April 5-9 at Caja Blanca in La Roda, Spain. The nine-round Swiss league tournament had a time control of 90 minutes for the game plus 30-second increments from move one.

Aravindh, Alexandr Fier

The final-round game between Alexandr Fier (playing white) and Aravindh Chithambaram

La Roda Chess Open

The tournament hall

Final standings

Rk. Name Pts.  TB1 
1 Fier Alexandr 7,5 52,5
2 Aravindh Chithambaram Vr. 7,5 51
3 Pranav V 7 52,5
4 Iniyan P 7 51,5
5 Narayanan.S.L 7 51
6 Albornoz Cabrera Carlos Daniel 7 50
7 Li Di 7 48,5
8 Svane Frederik 7 46,5
9 Santos Antonio P 7 42
10 Vignesh N R 6,5 51,5
11 Zhao Yuanhe 6,5 49
12 Jumabayev Rinat 6,5 49
13 Kobo Ori 6,5 48,5
14 Xu Xiangyu 6,5 47,5
15 Horcajuelo Rocamora Martin 6,5 46
16 Shyaamnikhil P 6 49,5
17 Visakh N R 6 49
18 Bernadskiy Vitaliy 6 47,5
19 Siddharth Jagadeesh 6 47
20 Tabuenca Mendataurigoitia Daniel 6 47

...178 players

All available games



Shahid Ahmed is the senior coordinator and editor of ChessBase India. He enjoys covering chess tournaments and also likes to play in chess events from time to time.