Cuban Championships: Ernesto Quesada and Lisandra Ordaz victorious

by ChessBase
2/23/2024 – The Cuban Championships, open and women’s, took place on February 5-17 in two different parts of the Caribbean island: Holguín and Pinar del Río, respectively. Both events were decided on tiebreakers, with Ernesto Quesada and Lisandra Ordaz emerging victorious.

ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024 ChessBase 17 - Mega package - Edition 2024

It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.


Close races

Press release by FIDE

The LX Cuban Absolute (Open) Championship and XLVIII National Women’s Championship were held almost simultaneously in the different parts of the island – Holguín and Pinar del Río, respectively.

The open tournament saw a close race between the three top seeds, Luis Ernesto Quesada Perez, Omar Almeida and Carlos Daniel Albornoz Cabrera, who each scored 7/9 points and tied for first place, finishing a half-point ahead of Lelys Stanley Martínez Duany.

To determine the winner, a three-player tiebreaker was played, in which Luis Ernesto Quesada emerged victorious, taking the title of Cuban champion. Omar Almeida finished second and took silver, while the top-rated Carlos Daniel Albornoz had to settle for bronze.

Kudos to FM Kemel Antonio Gallo, who netted 6/10 points and completed an IM norm.

Cuban Chess Championship

Final standings

Rk. SNo Name RtgI Club/City Pts.  TB1   TB2   TB3 
1 Luis Ernesto, Quesada Perez 7 55
2 Omar, Almeida Quintana 7 52,5
3 Carlos Daniel, Albornoz Cabrera 7 52
4 Lelys Stanley, Martinez Duany 6,5 51,5
5 Dylan Isidro, Berdayes Ason 6 56
6 Kemel Antonio, Gallo Garcia 6 52
7 Michel Alejandro, Diaz Perez 6 49,5
8 Jorge Roberto, Elias Reyes 6 48
9 Ermes, Espinosa Veloz 5,5 50,5
10 Rider, Diaz Murgada 5,5 47,5
11 Cristian, Vitier Vazquez 5 50,5
12 Elier, Miranda Mesa 5 46,5
13 Diasmany, Otero Acosta 5 44,5
14 Jorge De Jesus, Perez Marimon 4,5 50
15 Alain, Otero Marino 4,5 48

...26 players

All available games

The women’s event was also a close affair as IM Lisandra Ordaz Valdes and the youngest participant, WFM Leannet Mariah Bosch Valls, totalled 7½/10 points and shared first place.

Another exciting tiebreaker took place a few hours after the final round, with Ordaz and Bosch facing each other in a duel for the national crown. After the opponents traded blows in the rapid 15+10 games, Lisandra Ordaz won both blitz games and clinched the title. 

As many as three players tied for third place, with Miranda Llanes Yerisbel winning bronze (just like in 2023) thanks to the superior rating average of her opponents.

Final standings

Rk. SNo Name Rtg Pts.  TB1   TB2   TB3 
1 Lisandra Teresa, Ordaz Valdes 7,5 55
2 Leannet Mariah, Bosch Valls 7,5 54
3 Yerisbel, Miranda Llanes 7 55,5
4 Yaniela, Forgas Moreno 7 55,5
5 Roxangel, Obregon Garcia 7 54
6 Ineymig, Hernandez Gil 6 51,5
7 Oleiny, Linares Napoles 5,5 54,5
8 Melissa, Rodriguez Dominguez 5,5 50
9 Amanda Maria, Muniz Guevara 5,5 47,5
10 Vivian, Ramon Pita 5 52
11 Maritza, Arribas Robaina 5 50
12 Lorena Beatriz, Montejo Bello 5 48
13 Greter, Caballero Ramos 5 46
14 Yoana, Gonzalez Ochoa 5 43,5
15 Aliett, Valdes Boza 5 41,5

...26 players

All available games

Master advanced Tactics and Calculations like a super Grandmaster

The Indian chess grandmaster Vidit Gujrathi with an ELO of over 2700 (June 2023) is one of the best 20 players in the world. For the first time, the sympathetic top player presents himself in a video course. Let a world-class player show you tactical moti


Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.