Norway Chess: Games and standings

by ChessBase
6/10/2022 – The tenth edition of the Norway Chess Tournament is taking place from May 31 to June 10 in Stavanger. A 10-player single round-robin, the event uses a unique format: in case of a draw in the classical game, an Armageddon follows to have a winner in every single encounter. The action kicks off at 17.00 CEST (11.00 ET, 20.30 IST). | Follow the games live with computer analyses and expert commentary.

ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2022 ChessBase 16 - Mega package Edition 2022

Your key to fresh ideas, precise analyses and targeted training!
Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy the game even more.

More...

Norway Chess

In the Classical-Armageddon tournament, in case of a draw in the slow game, a sudden-death decider will follow. The time control in the classical game is 120 minutes plus an increment of 10 seconds after move 40. In the Armageddon, White has 10 minutes and Black has 7 minutes, with an increment of 1 second per move starting from move 41.

The pointing system:

  • Victory main game: 3 points
  • Loss main game: 0 points
  • Draw main game & victory Armageddon: 1½ points
  • Draw main game & loss Armageddon: 1 point

Read the full preview...


All games

 

Commentary by Jovanka Houska and Jan Gustafsson


Final standings

  Name Points
1 Magnus Carlsen 16½
2 Shakhriyar Mamedyarov 15½
3 Viswanathan Anand 14½
4 Maxime Vachier-Lagrave 14
5 Wesley So 12½
6 Anish Giri 12
7 Aryan Tari
8 Veselin Topalov
9 Teimour Radjabov 8
10 Wang Hao

Links


Reports about chess: tournaments, championships, portraits, interviews, World Championships, product launches and more.
Discussion and Feedback Submit your feedback to the editors