ChessBase and ACP opinion poll amongst top players

2/13/2009 – In recent months FIDE has announced major changes to its World Championship cycle. This resulted in a wave of discussions and, in fact, a number of players withdrawing from the Grand Prix qualifier. So what do top players think, and what are their preferences for the cycle? Together with the ACP ChessBase has put together a questionnaire for World Championship candidates.

ChessBase 14 Download ChessBase 14 Download

Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. Start your personal success story with ChessBase 14 and enjoy your chess even more!


Along with the ChessBase 14 program you can access the Live Database of 8 million games, and receive three months of free ChesssBase Account Premium membership and all of our online apps! Have a look today!

More...

Opinion poll by ChessBase and ACP
amongst top players

By Olena Boytsun, ACP Board Member

In November 2008 FIDE announced major changes to the World Championship cycle. This resulted in a huge wave of discussions: Alexei Shirov and Levon Aronian publicly questioning the legality and consistency of the abrupt changes to a running cycle, which Magnus Carlsen and Michael Adams withdrew from the Grand Prix qualifier 2008-2009.

During a press conference in Elista in December 2009 FIDE President Kirsan Ilyumzhinov stated that a final decision on the changes in the current cycle will be taken in March 2009 at the Presidential Board meeting, and that he will take into the consideration the opinions expressed during the online meeting with the chess players.

In December the Association of Chess Professionals put out a statement recommending that “FIDE should build a sustainable dialog with chess players, where the ACP could play a role of mediator. Consultation and discussion are the key words to lay the foundations for a fair World Chess Championship cycle.”

On December 27th 2008 FIDE conducted a telephone conference with five players and five officials. Members of the ACP Board were, however, not invited to take part, nor were many other chess players directly involved in the World Championship cycle. The results of the meeting as well as a transcript of the conference have not been made available as of 12.02.2009.

Since this meeting was restricted to five players and has not been adequately documented, the Association of Chess Professionals and ChessBase have decided to conduct a survey amongst a larger number of top players, i.e. all those who are theoretically involved in the World Championship Cycle. The results of this poll will be presented to FIDE before the Presidential Board meeting in March 2009.

The main aim of the ACP-ChessBase questionnaire is to understand the opinion of top chess players on the most important issues of their professional life. The poll will be conducted by email in order to make sure that the answers are genuinely from the players surveyed. The criteria of the participation are as follows: players with a rating above 2690 (on the January 2009 FIDE list), plus the participants of the current cycle, plus some ex-world champions.

The questionnaire will be sent to the respondents on the 13th of February 2009. We expect to receive the replies and evaluate them in a 2-3 week period. The results should be made public on ChessBase.com and the ACP web site in the first week of March 2009.

The ACP Board
February 12, 2008


Questionnaire

Note that this questionnaire is being published here for the information of players and the general chess public. It should not be used to answer the questions. Players who are part of our poll will be contacted directly, within the next few days, by email, with a copy of the questions. It is only by answering this email that you participate in the poll.

1. What in your opinion is the best format for a World Championship final?

   a. A match
   b. A round robin or double round robin tournament
   c. A knock-out tournament
   d. Another form (please specify precisely what)

2. What is the best qualification system for the World Championship final?

   a. Candidates matches
   b. A round robin tournament
   c. A knock-out tournament
   d. Another form (please specify precisely what)

3. What time controls should be used in World Championship events?

   a. The so called "Classical" time controls (6-7 hour per game)
   b. The so called "FIDE" time controls (3-5 hours per game)
   c. The so called "rapid" time controls (approx. one hour per game)
   d. Any other (please specify precisely what)

4. What time controls should be used for chess tournaments in general?

   a. The so called "Classical" time controls (6-7 hour per game)
   b. The so called "FIDE" time controls (90 min for 40 moves, then 30 min for the rest, + 30 sec/move from move 1)
   c. The so called "rapid" time controls (approx. one hour per game)
   d. Any other (please specify precisely what)

5. What do you think about a time increment after each move?

   a. I think there should be an increment from move 1
   b. I think there should be an increment from move 40
   c. I am against any form of increment
   d. It depends on the time control (please specify precisely how)

6. What is your opinion about dress code during World Championships and top tournaments?

   a. Suit and tie should be obligatory
   b. "Decent dress" obligatory (for instance jacket, no sport shoes)
   c. I don’t see a necessity, but would accept it
   d. I am against any dress code

7. What do you think about doping control?

   a. It should be obligatory and comply with the regulations of the IOC
   b. I would accept doping control if it is adapted specifically for chess
   c. I don’t see a necessity for doping controls, but would accept it
   d. I am against any doping controls

8. What do you think about anti-computer cheating controls?

   a. They should be obligatory and made as tough as possible
   b. Obligatory, but only metal detectors and light controls
   c. I don’t see a necessity, but would accept it
   d. I am against any such controls

9. What do you think the punishment for being late for a game should be?

   a. The player automatically forfeits the game
   b. A financial or rating penalty
   c. Any other (please specify precisely what)
   d. There should not be any penalty

10. What do you think about the current rating system?

   a. It is fine, no changes needed
   b. I would make changes (please specify precisely which)

11. What do you think about changes made to the current WCC cycle (change of format, etc.)?

   a. I object to any changes made to the current cycle
   b. I accept the changes to the current cycle, if they lead to increasing of the overall prize fund of the cycle
   c. I accept any changes made to the current cycle
   d. Other: (please specify)

12. What do you think about staging Super-GM tournaments in a soundproof glass cabin in a public square, as was done in Bilbao 2008?

   a. I think it is a good idea and I am comfortable with it
   b. I am uncomfortable with it, but I accept it because it benefits chess.
   c. I reject the idea because… (please specify)

Other proposals

If you have other comments or suggestions please add them to your answer at the bottom.

Name: ______________________________________   Date: _______________________

Some instructions regarding your submissions:

  1. We will be sending you the questionnaire as a Word and as a plain text file. You can use either to submit your answer.
  2. Please leave each question in place and delete the answers you reject, keeping only the one that reflects your opinion.
  3. You can add remarks to each question, even if you choose one of the answers given.
  4. Please send your replies by email to the address given in the message.

If you are a 2690+ player or in any way a participant in the World Championship cycle, and you do not receive the questionnaire by the 15th of February, please contact Olena Boytsun with your correct email details.

Copyright ChessBase and ACP



Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register