World Cup R6: Ponomariov to play Gelfand in the final

12/8/2009 – Ruslan Ponomariov, who in 2002 won the FIDE knockout world championship, has made it to the final of the World Cup 2009. In four rapid chess tiebreak games the Ukrainian GM lost the first but came back strongly to defeat Vladimir Malakhov, Russia, in the next three games and finish with an overall score of 4.0-2.0. Illustrated report.

ChessBase 14 Download ChessBase 14 Download

Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. Start your personal success story with ChessBase 14 and enjoy your chess even more!


Along with the ChessBase 14 program you can access the Live Database of 8 million games, and receive three months of free ChesssBase Account Premium membership and all of our online apps! Have a look today!

More...

The FIDE World Chess Cup is taking place in Khanty-Mansiysk from November 20th to December 15th 2009. It is a seven-round knockout event with six rounds of matches comprising two games per round, with the winners progressing to the next round. The final seventh round consists of four games. The time control is 90 minutes for the first 40 moves followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an addition of 30 seconds per move from move one. Games start at 15:00h local time, which is GMT +5 hours = 11:00 a.m. European time = 5 a.m. New York. The World Chess Cup is an integral part of the World Championship Cycle 2009-2011.

Semifinals: tiebreak


Ruslan Ponomariov goes through the metal detector to enter the playing venue


His opponent physicist Vladimir Malakhov


Start of game one of the tiebreak...


... which Malakhov won in 66 moves


Ruslan trying to understand how it happened


The final position in that game

Malakhov won the first game with fine endgame technique – replay it and learn! In the second encounter it was Ponomariov who turned a bad position in a Grünfeld into an equal endgame which he proceeded to win – replay it and learn! He went on to win the third game, and in the fourth Malakhov blundered – Ponomariov was in the final.


It's all over, Malakhov is out, Ponomariov in the final

Results of round six

 Players  G1  G2
R1
R2
R3
R4
  Tot
 Karjakin, Sergey (UKR)
0
0
       
0.0
 Gelfand, Boris (ISR)
1
1
       
2.0
               
 Ponomariov, Ruslan (UKR)
½
½
0
1
1
1
4.0
 Malakhov, Vladimir (RUS)
½
½
1
0
0
0
2.0

Schedule of the World Cup 2009

Friday 20 November Opening Ceremony
Saturday 21 November Round 1- Game 1
Sunday 22 November Round 1 - Game 2
Monday 23 November Tiebreaks
Tuesday 24 November Round 2 - Game 1
Wednesday 25 November Round 2 - Game 2
Thursday 26 November Tiebreaks
Friday 27 November Round 3 - Game 1
Saturday 28 November Round 3 - Game 2
Sunday 29 November Tiebreaks
Monday 30 November Round 4 - Game 1
Tuesday 01 December Round 4 - Game 2
Wednesday 02 December Tiebreaks
 
Thursday 03 December Round 5 - Game 1
Friday 04 December Round 5 - Game 2
Saturday 05 December Tiebreaks
Sunday 06 December Round 6 - Game 1
Monday 07 December Round 6 - Game 2
Tuesday 08 December Tiebreaks
Wednesday 09 December Free Day
Thursday 10 December Round 7 - Game 1
Friday 11 December Round 7 - Game 2
Saturday 12 December Round 7 - Game 3
Sunday 13 December Round 7 - Game 4
Monday 14 December Tiebreaks / Closing
Tuesday 15 December Departures

Links

The games are being broadcast live on the official web site and on the chess server Playchess.com. If you are not a member you can download the free PGN reader ChessBase Light, which gives you immediate access. You can also use the program to read, replay and analyse PGN games. New and enhanced: CB Light 2009!


Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register