Fritz 15

Today on playchess.com

Simul with IM Michael Kopylov

– Did you ever play against an International Master? IM Michael Kopylov plays a simul at 8 pm GMT+1 in the Simultaneous room versus Premium members. The early bird catches the worm. Become Premium Member!

News

Fritz 15 - English Version

New Fritz, new friend

€69.90

Complete Nimzo-Indian Powerbook 2016

We have included the whole E00-E59 complex in our “Complete Nimzo-Indian Powerbook 2016”. It is based, e.g., on 45 000 games from the Mega database and 4000 correspondence games. The lion’s share is made up of the 245 000 games from the engine room.

€9.90

Queen's Gambit Declined Powerbook 2016

For the Queen's Gambit Declined Powerbook we once again used above all high grade material: 90 000 games from Mega and from correspondence chess, but these are of high quality. Added to that are 410 000 games from the engine room on playchess.com.

€9.90

The Semi-Slav

The Semi-Slav (1.d4 d5 2.c4 c6 3.Nf3 Nf6 4.Nc3 e6) can arise via various moveorders, has decided World Championships, and is one of Black’s most fascinating replies to 1 d4. Nielsen explains in detail what this openign is all about.

€29.90

The Black Lion - an aggressive version of the Philidor Defense

The Lion gets ready to roar after 1.e4 d6 2.d4 Nf6 3.Nc3 e5 4.Nf3 Nbd7 5.Bc4 Be7 6.0–0 c6 – and now Black wants to attack with an early ...g5.

€29.90

Power Play 23: A Repertoire for black with the Queen's Gambit Declined

On this DVD Grandmaster Daniel King offers you a repertoire for Black with the QGD. The repertoire is demonstrated in 10 stem games, covering all White’s major systems: 5 Bg5, 5 Bf4, and the Exchange Variation.

€29.90

Power Play 24: A repertoire for black against the Catalan

On this DVD Grandmaster Daniel King offers you a repertoire for Black against the Catalan, based around maintaining the rock of a pawn on d5. Keeping central control ultimately gives Black good chances to launch an attack against the enemy king.

€29.90

Advertising
Books, boards, sets: Chess Niggemann

The Power Play Show with GM Daniel King

12/19/2012 – Improvement of your own play is one of the main aims when you are engaged in chess training. GM Daniel King is an expert who can guide you in achieving this goal. In his Power Play show he will present a bunch of practical examples and show you how to handle different kinds of positions, which will help improve your practical results. An example and more information.
ChessBase 13 Download

ChessBase 13 Download

ChessBase 13 is a personal, stand-alone chess database that has become the standard throughout the world. Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy your chess even more.

More...

The Power Play Show with GM Daniel King

Daniel King, popular author of the Power Play series and many books, has his own show on playchess.com. Once a month he presents selected games and themes from practical play. You can ask Daniel questions during the show and you can also just relax, lean back and let yourself be quietly entertained and instructed.


Recent picture made while his stay to record another Power Play DVD

The following example is from the game Petrosian - Vishnu from the Fujairah Masters 2012 where White is to move to make progress. Try to find a move or combination of moves that gives White an advantage. The solution will be presented today at 8 pm on playchess.com.

The show starts at 7 p.m. or 19:00h British time = 20:00h CET, 22:00h Moscow, 12:30 a.m. Chennai, 03:00h Beijing, 06:00 a.m. Melbourne, 08:00 a.m. Auckland, 11 a.m. San Francisco, 2 p.m. New York. You can check your location here

Here's the official teaser for the Power Play Show:

 

Daniel King's YouTube channel also features a very interesting interactive format of chess puzzles.
One of his recent puzzles dealt with a position from the Women's World Rapid Championship.

 

Recently Daniel recorded a clip about the Kasparov - Carlsen encounter in 2004.

 

Order King’s Power Play DVDs in the ChessBase Shop:

About the author:

Born 1963, Daniel King has been a professional chess player for more than 20 years and has represented his country in numerous competitions, amongst others in the historic win by the English over the Soviet Union in 1990 in Reykjavik. King is the author of more than 15 chess books and has wealth of experience as a trainer, assisting many of England’s leading players. He is also well known for his broadcasting on TV, radio and the internet, commentating major chess events. To the delight of chess fans worldwide, he hosts his monthly "Powerplay" show on the world's largest chess server, Playchess.com. He contributes to ChessBase Magazine, with the popular column "Move by Move". King has also produced the highly praised PowerPlay DVD series for ChessBase. King lives in London.
Feedback and mail to our news service Please use this account if you want to contribute to or comment on our news page service

See also

Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register