The Playchess Grand Prix

8/31/2004 – Every Wednesday, at 4, 6, 8 and 10 p.m. CEST (= GMT +2) we will be staging special fast blitz (3+0) tournaments, each a seven-round Swiss, on the Playchess.com server. The winners of each tournament can win Ducat prizes and collect Grand Prix points. Here are the details...

ChessBase 14 Download ChessBase 14 Download

Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. Start your personal success story with ChessBase 14 and enjoy your chess even more!


Along with the ChessBase 14 program you can access the Live Database of 8 million games, and receive three months of free ChesssBase Account Premium membership and all of our online apps! Have a look today!

More...

The individual tournaments start on Wednesdays at 16:00h, 18:00h, 20:00h and 22:00h. These are given in Central European Standard Time, which is GMT + 2 hours. E.g. the last tournament is at 22:00h CEST = 10 p.m. CEST (Berlin, Paris, Rome, Madrid), 9:00 p.m. London, 4 p.m. New York and midnight Moscow. The times given are the deadlines for registering. Actual play begins about fifteen minutes later. Each tournament is a seven round Swiss. The time control is 3 min for all the move with no increment (3+0) for all tournaments.

Prizes and Grand Prix points

In each tournament the 1st place wins 150 ducats, 2nd place 100 ducats, and 3rd place 50 ducats. In addition the first eight players get Grand Prix points:

1st place: 10 points 5th place: 4 points
2nd place: 8 points 6th place: 3 points
3rd place: 6 points 7th place: 2 points
4th place: 5 points 8th place: 1 point

The Grand Prix prizes are 1st place 350 ducats, 2nd place 200 ducats, and 3rd place 100 ducats. In case of a tie prizes will be divided.

Rules

1. The tournament language is English.
2. There is no need to play in all tournaments. It is up to you in how many tournaments you play.
3. Prizes in the Grand Prix can only be won if the player have not withdrawn from any of the Grand Prix tournaments he or she has started.
4. The server rules will apply.

The current Grand Prix standings will be published in the server news about ten minutes after the end of each tournament.

To play in the tournament you can use Fritz or any Fritz-compatible program (Shredder, Junior, Tiger, Hiarcs), or you can download a free trial client.

Tournament director Martin Fischer


Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register