L'ami Gambit Guide Vol1 and 2

Today on playchess.com

Simul with GM Bojkov

– Did you ever play against a Grandmaster? GM Dejan Bojkov plays a simul at 8 pm GMT+1 in the Simultaneous room versus Premium members. The early bird catches the worm. Become Premium Member!


Fritz 15 - English Version

New Fritz, new friend


Trompowsky for the attacking player

Tap into your creative mind and start the game on a fresh note. The Trompovsky (1.d4 Nf6 2.Bg5) is an opening outside of conventional wisdom. Create challenges and make your opponent solve problems early on.


The 4...Nf6 Caro-Kann

On this DVD Nigel Davies examines both the Bronstein-Larsen (5.Nxf6+ gxf6) and the Tartakower (5.Nxf6+ exf6) systems and shows how the doubled f-pawn, common to both lines gives Black a range of aggressive plans and ideas.


Sicilian Paulsen Powerbook 2016

In our Powerbook we have brought together all games with the ECO codes B40-B49. Added to 62 000 selected master games from both Mega and correspondence chess there 122 000 high class games from the engine room on playchess.com.


Najdorf Powerbook 2016

The Najdorf Powerbook 2016 is based on a totally incredible number of games: 1.9 million! The lion’s share is provided by the engine room on playchess.com, with the addition of 120 000 games from human experts.


ChessBase Magazine 173

Enjoy the best moments of recent top tournaments (Shamkir, Paris and Leuven) with analysis of top players. In addition you'll get lots of training material. For example 13 new suggestions for your opening repertoire.


The Semi-Slav

The Semi-Slav (1.d4 d5 2.c4 c6 3.Nf3 Nf6 4.Nc3 e6) can arise via various moveorders, has decided World Championships, and is one of Black’s most fascinating replies to 1 d4. Nielsen explains in detail what this openign is all about.


Books, boards, sets: Chess Niggemann

Indian National Championship won by Surya Ganguly

1/5/2007 – Normally the championship of this chess superpower is a massive 22-player round robin event. This time it was staged as a 13-player Swiss with 45 participants. The venue was idyllic – the picturesque Atul Club in the State of Gujarat, 180 km north of Mumbai. The winner, who took his fourth Indian title, was Surya Sekhar Ganguly. Picture report.
ChessBase 13 Download

ChessBase 13 Download

ChessBase 13 is a personal, stand-alone chess database that has become the standard throughout the world. Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. It is the program of choice for anyone who loves the game and wants to know more about it. Start your personal success story with ChessBase and enjoy your chess even more.


Indian National Championship

By Praful Zaveri

The Atul 44th National 'A' Chess Championship was held from 18th to 29th December 2006 at the picturesque Atul, District Valsad (State of Gujarat), which is approximately 180 Kms north of Mumbai. For the first time the All India Chess Federation (AICF) experimented with the new format of 13-round Swiss League instead of the marathon 22-player's all-play-all.

The Atul Club – venue of the National 'A' Chess Championship of India

The 44th edition of the Indian National Championship, better known as the National 'A' Chess Championship, was expectedly won by the top-seeded and defending champion, GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly, who powered his way to his fourth consecutive title with a score of 9/13.

The Champion - GM Surya Sekhar Ganguly at work...

... and with the prize for his endeavors.

Final standings

Rk   Name Rtg Pts
1 GM Ganguly Surya Shekhar 2573 9
2 GM Deepan Chakkravarthy 2501
3 IM Arun Prasad S 2424
4   Rohit G 2393 8
5 IM Suvrajit Saha 2356 8
6   Gopal G N 2397 8
7 GM Kunte Abhijit 2524 8
8 GM Neelotpal Das 2490 8
9 IM Roy Chowdhury S. 2423 8
10 WGM Harika Dronavalli 2353
11 IM Gupta Abhijeet 2481
12 IM Sengupta Deep 2420
13 IM Prathamesh Sunil 2335
14   Murali Krishnan B T 2364
15 IM Sundararajan Kidambi 2451
16 GM Barua Dibyendu 2471 7
17   Rathnakaran K 2422 7
18 IM Poobesh Anand S 2416 7
19   Palit Somak 2306 7
20 GM Thipsay Praveen M 2494
21 IM Venkatesh M R 2466
22 IM Ravi Lanka 2408
23 IM Konguvel Ponnuswamy 2407
24   Aswin Jayaram 2322
25 IM D P Singh 2507
26 GM Bakre Tejas 2447
27   Parikh Valay 2394
28 IM Saravanan V 2383
29   Syed Anwar Shazuli 2241
30 IM Ravi Thandalam S. 2335 6
31 IM Babu N Sudhakar 2290 6
32 GM Ramesh R B 2491 6
33   Thejkumar M  S 2322 6
34 IM Himanshu Sharma 2387 6
35   Abhishek Das 2307 6
36 WGM Swathi Ghate 2385
37   Kamble Vikramaditya 2346
38 IM Girinath P D S 2344
39 IM Roktim Bandyopadhyay 2332
40 WGM Karavade Eesha 2321
41 IM Prakash G B 2403
42 IM Laxman R R 2324 5
43   Swapnil Dhopade 2209 5
44 IM Koshy Varugeese 2325 5
45   Sinha Sudhir Kumar 2182 3

Picture gallery

Second place to GM Deepan Chakravarthy

Third place for IM Arun Prasad

Fourth place: G. Rohit

Fifth: IM Suvrajit Saha (right), here in his game against Barua

Sixth place: G.N. Gopal

Tenth place: WGM Harika Dronavalli, who remained unbeaten

Nothing went right for WGM Swathi Ghate, who finished at 36

An impression of the tournament venue

Some pool-side analysis

The 'Live Coverage Team' – they did all the running to bring us the games live!

Part two of Praful Zaveri's report to follow soon – with some fairly explosive material.

Feedback and mail to our news service Please use this account if you want to contribute to or comment on our news page service

See also


Rules for reader comments


Not registered yet? Register