Duel of the minor pieces

2/18/2010 – In the analysis of Short-Kramnik ("the wrong choice of ending") we saw a knight that had everything under its control triumph over the bishop. But having the superior minor piece does not always guarantee the full point, as can be seen in the game McShane-Sebag. White has an extra pawn and the last black pawn is fixed on the same colour square as the bishop. Black should be able to save the game here, because the winning potential in the position is just too slight. However, the reason for 134....Kd7? being the wrong move and how Black could have held the draw can be seen in Karsten Müller's analysis for  ChessBase Magazine Online.

ChessBase 14 Download ChessBase 14 Download

Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. Start your personal success story with ChessBase 14 and enjoy your chess even more!


Along with the ChessBase 14 program you can access the Live Database of 8 million games, and receive three months of free ChesssBase Account Premium membership and all of our online apps! Have a look today!

More...

Tactics, Openings, Endgames - Visit ChessBase Magazine Online

Black unnecessarily conceded space with 134...Kd7?. What should he have played instead?
Analysis Mc Shane-Sebag  by GM Karsten Müller


Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register