'Any Questions' show on Playchess with Andrew Martin

7/12/2011 – He's a chess expert and a very proficient teacher, trainer, author of over twenty ChessBase training DVDs. On Wednesday IM Andrew Martin will face the Playchess crowd for an exclusive Q&A session. You can send him questions by email and he will try to answer as many as he can manage. The show is free for all premium members. Be there at 21:00h CEST.

ChessBase 14 Download ChessBase 14 Download

Everyone uses ChessBase, from the World Champion to the amateur next door. Start your personal success story with ChessBase 14 and enjoy your chess even more!


Along with the ChessBase 14 program you can access the Live Database of 8 million games, and receive three months of free ChesssBase Account Premium membership and all of our online apps! Have a look today!

More...

The starting time for the 'Any Questions' show with Andrew Martin is Wednesday, July 13, 2011 at 21:00h CEST – which translates to 23:00h Moscow, 20:00 London, 3:00 p.m. New York, 09:00 a.m. Honolulu and 13:00h in Tegucigalpa. If you do not live in one of these time zones you can find the correct start in this table. The show takes place in the broadcast room of the Playchess server. To submit your questions use this email link.

Andrew David Martin (born 18th May 1957 in West Ham, London) is an English chess player with the title of International Master. He has won various national and international tournaments, and has been playing for years in the Four Nations Chess League. Martin received his IM title in1984 and earned his first grandmaster norm in the British Championship of 1997 in Brighton. Martin was a commentator on the chess world championship between Kasparov and Kramnik in 2000.

On the 21st February 2004 Martin set a new world record for simultaneous chess, facing 321 chess players at the same time. His result was: 294 wins, 26 draws and only one loss. Martin is known as a professional chess teacher and head trainer of the English youth team. He trains eight schools (Yateley Manor, Aldro, Millfield, Sunningdale, Waverley School, St Michael’s Sandhurst, Wellington College, Salesian College). Martin is a chess columnist, an author of chess books and the author of various instructional videos. He was the publisher of the series Trends Publications. Martin lives in Sandhurst, England, is married and the father of two daughters and two sons. His present Elo rating is 2423 (as of July 2009).

Andrew also maintains a dedicated YouTube channel, the Yateley Manor Chess Master, which is refreshed weekly with two wholly original videos on a variety of topics. Requests from subscribers are always considered. The philosophy is pretty simple: to showcase the excellence of chess. The channel is endorsed by Yateley Manor school, who sponsor the national schools championship in the UK and the ECF. Here's a sample lecture:


Discussion and Feedback Join the public discussion or submit your feedback to the editors


Discuss

Rules for reader comments

 
 

Not registered yet? Register